English

Deutsch

Production

Our viscose originates from nature. Its raw material is generated from indigenous soft wood – Scots pine (pinus sylvestris) and European spruce (picea abies). These fast growing trees are very common in Northern Europe and are grown in sustainable forestry according to FSC (Forest Stewardship Council) standards. After 20 years, long before the regular forestry use, the first selective harvest can start.

The cellulose fiber material is separated from the wood and dissolved at ENKA’s premises in a time-consuming chemical process into a honey-coloured spinning solution with a defined viscosity. In the subsequent wet spinning process, such spinning solution is further processed through hair-thin spinning nozzles, stretched and winded up in filament bundles on spools.

As we are only manufacturing endless yarns, the single filaments have to provide constant quality parameters in terms of fineness, tenacity and dye affinity over thousands of kilometres.

All our filaments are washed, dryed and twisted and undergo further textile aftertreatment process steps, before ENKA’s yarns are ready for sale in different make-ups. The whole manufacturing process from the raw material cellulose to the finished ENKA® Viscose yarn takes several weeks.

English

Deutsch

Produktion

Unsere Viscose kommt aus der Natur. Ihr Rohstoff wird aus heimischen Nadelhölzern – Waldkiefer (pinus sylvestris) und Fichte (picea abies) – gewonnen. Diese schnell wachsenden Baumarten sind in Nordeuropa weit verbreitet und werden dort gemäß FSC Standard forstwirtschaftlich angebaut. Nach 20 Jahren, also lange vor der regulären forstlichen Umtriebszeit, kann die erste selektive Holzentnahme erfolgen.

Die Zellulosefaser wird vom Holz getrennt und bei ENKA in einem zeitaufwändigen chemischen Prozess zu einer honigfarbenen Spinnlösung mit definierter Zähflüssigkeit der sogenannten "Viskosität" verflüssigt. Diese Spinnlösung wird in einem Naßspinnverfahren durch hauchfeine Düsenlöcher gepreßt, verstreckt und als Filamentbündel auf Spulen gewickelt.

Da es sich um Endlosgarne handelt, müssen die einzelnen Filamente über Tausende von Kilometern eine konstant bleibende Qualität in Feinheit, Festigkeit und Farbaufnahmevermögen aufweisen.

Die so gewonnenen Fäden werden gewaschen, getrocknet, gezwirnt und in einer Reihe weiterer textiler Nachbehandlungsschritte bis zu den unterschiedlichen verkaufsfertigen Aufmachungen weiterverarbeitet.
Vom Rohstoff Zellulose bis hin zum verkaufsfertigen Produkt vergehen mehrere Wochen.