English

Deutsch

Raw materials, energy
& other resources
Wood and cellulose – the main raw materials of ENKA – originate from the cellulose circuit and are a product of photosynthesis:


All trees are planted, grown, harvested and re-forested by our suppliers according to the principles of sustainable forestry. They come from proven legal and sustainable sources in Northern Europe with short transportation routes. Accordingly, ENKA’s suppliers of pulp and wood are certified according to the strict FSC standards. Wood as a source of raw material is always CO2 neutral for our climate, as the use of wood can only release the same amount of CO2, which was earlier bound in the plant during photosynthesis.

Pulp originates from this natural, renewable resource – this is, why viscose is called a “natural” polymer. The by-products, which arise during the separation of pulp from wood, are refined to ethanol or used as organic fuel.

The manufacturing of viscose filament yarn according to ENKA’s spinning technology is a chemical-technical process with different process steps, which takes – depending on the make-up of ENKA® Viscose – up to six weeks.

ENKA is producing with material cycles and uses equipment to regain used raw materials in recovery processes in order to achieve significant reductions in the use of raw materials and emissions.

ENKA uses energy from an energy-efficient co-generated power plant (heat and power) at the Obernburg site.

ENKA is certified according to ISO 9001:2008, ISO 50001:2011, FSC® and has developed its own Wood Pulp Procurement Policy in order to promote sustainable forest management and the protection of ancient and endangered forests. Within the framework of the CanopyStyle Initiative, ENKA was successfully audited as the first filament yarn producer by the certifier Rainforest Alliance (please find the full results of the CanopyStyle audit).

English

Deutsch

Rohstoffe, Energie & andere Ressourcen
Holz und Zellstoff – die Hauptrohstoffe von ENKA – entstammen dem Zellulosekreislauf und sind ein Produkt der Photosynthese:


Die Bäume werden von unseren Lieferanten nach den Grundsätzen nachhaltiger Forstwirtschaft gepflanzt, aufgezogen, geerntet und nachgepflanzt. Sie stammen alle aus nachweislich legalen und nachhaltigen Quellen im Norden Europas mit kurzen Transportwegen. Die Zellstoff- und Holzlieferanten von ENKA sind daher auch nach den strengen FSC-Standards zertifiziert. Da durch die Verwertung von Holz auch niemals mehr CO2 freigesetzt werden kann, als in der Photosynthese im Holz gebunden wurde, ist der Wald als Rohstoffquelle selbst immer klimaneutral.

Aus dieser natürlichen, erneuerbaren Ressource wird Zellstoff gewonnen - deswegen wird Viskose auch als „natürliches“ Polymer bezeichnet. Die Nebenprodukte, die bei der Gewinnung von Zellstoff aus Holz entstehen, werden übrigens zu Ethanol raffiniert oder als organische Brennstoffe verwendet.

Die Herstellung von Viskosefilamentgarn aus Zellstoff nach dem ENKA Spinnverfahren ist ein chemisch-technologischer Prozess, der in verschiedenen Produktionsstufen abläuft. Der Herstellungsprozess dauert – je nach verkaufsfertiger Aufmachung der ENKA® Viscose – bis zu sechs Wochen.

Produziert wird in Stoffkreisläufen mit Rückgewinnungsanlagen, so dass der Verbrauch von Rohstoffen erheblich verringert und die Umweltauswirkungen minimiert werden.

ENKA bezieht Energie von einem energieeffizienten Gaskraftwerk mit Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung am Standort Obernburg.

ENKA ist zertifiziert nach ISO 9001:2008, ISO 50001:2011 sowie FSC® zertifiziert und hat sich zu einer nachhaltigen Einkaufspolitik zum Schutz der Waldbestände verpflichtet. Im Rahmen der CanopyStyle Initiative wurde ENKA vom Zertifizierer Rainforest Alliance als erster Filamentgarnhersteller erfolgreich auditiert (zu den Ergebnissen des CanopyStyle Audits im einzelnen).